Skip to main content

Among Ontario’s many occupations and career paths, the government has designated 144 recognized trades with apprenticeship programs. These recognized trades offer career opportunities in every region of the province within key industries to include mechanical, electrical, automotive, manufacturing, building and service.

Trades in Ontario have different requirements depending on whether they are compulsory trades or non-compulsory trades and in trades with exams, you can earn a Certificate of Qualification. Certificates of Qualification are valued by employers and for some trades it is possible to get a Red Seal endorsement. The Red Seal Program is national program that sets common standards to assess the skills of tradespeople across Canada. The Red Seal endorsement promotes excellence to employers, instills pride in skilled workers, and facilitates labour mobility.

While recognized trades vary across Canada and internationally, there are ways for experienced workers to have their qualifications and skills recognized in Ontario.

Find more detailed information on trades that interest you.

About Trades Image

Trades Information

Learn more
experienced workers image

Compulsory Trades

Learn more
Non-compulsory-Trade Image

Non-compulsory Trades

Learn more

Red Seal Program

Learn more